Lemon and Rosewater Cupcakes

Bex and I recently spent a lovely morning having tea, cake and craft chat at Hall Place.  On the menu was a Lemon Drizzle Cake with Rosewater.  Much to our disappointment they had none left, so we settled on shortbread and a polenta cake.  Both were lovely but I haven’t been able to get the lemon and rosewater idea out of my head.

Now, I realise that not everyone is a fan of the floral, sweet goodness of rose water. However, I love it.  I love Turkish delight, would die for Cherry Lips and the idea of using rosewater in a cake makes me go gooey.  So, for our coffee morning this week, Bex came to mine – I had to inconveniently wait in for a car light! – so I decided to make us some treats.

Not knowing how the lemon and rosewater would turn out, as I didn’t have a recipe so was winging it, I decided to play it safe.  I made normal vanilla cupcakes and lemon drizzle cupcakes with a rosewater frosting.

There is no fancy recipe or secret to share.  I always use the same recipe for my “base”.

This recipe will make 12 cupcakes:

4oz Self Raising Flour
4oz Caster Sugar
4oz Margarine
2 Large Free Range Eggs
1tsp Baking Powder (yes, I know!)
1tsp Vanilla Extract

I don’t cream the marg and sugar or do anything impressive.  I am not a reckless baker, but I have a “what will be, will be” approach.  So, everything goes into the bowl and I beat the be-jay-sus out of it!  Saying that, I do insist on a using a glass bowl and room temperature eggs.  (Eggs don’t go in the fridge people!)

To make the lemon cake (per 6 cupcakes):

Zest of 1 lemon – mix well into the cake batter

For the “drizzle”:

Juice of the lemon you zested
1 – 1½ tsp of sugar (caster if you are going to ice the cakes, granulated if you want the crispy sugar topping)
**mix well before spooning over – keep stirring between pouring over the cupcakes to keep the lemon – sugar well mixed.

The Icing

For the icing, I simply made a batch of butter icing, and added 1 ½ tsp of rosewater and red food colouring (to make it pink) to half of the icing and piped this onto the lemon cupcakes once the drizzle had had a little time to soak in.  This did have quite a strong flavour which without the lemon to offset it may have been too much.  So, I would suggest you do it to your taste, add a little, and keep adding until you are happy.

The verdict?  Amazing! The sharpness of the lemon is heaven against the sweet flowery rosewater. I will definitely be making them again.

Boo x

One thought on “Lemon and Rosewater Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Hey Dolly! Why so Wonky? | Harts & Carafts

Leave a Reply

