Scrummy Shortbread

Ahhhhh scrummy shortbread. Not many people can resist that buttery, melt in the mouth goodness.
So, after a rough couple of weeks, I decided to treat hubster and I to some homemade shortbread.

It’s the easiest biscuit to make, such a simple but effective recipe. There are a gazillion recipes out there, some involving almond flour or cornflour. I use the recipe that I first learnt in school, 3 basic ingredients which you are likely to have in your cupboard anyway! Making them perfect for a biccie fix!

Ingredients:

125g/4oz butter
55g/2oz caster sugar
180g/6oz plain flour

Making the shortbread:

Cream the butter and sugar together until smooth and light.

Add the flour. I beat the flour in with my hand mixer until I have a breadcrumb texture. Then I simply bring it together by mixing it hand. Unfortunately I don’t have a food mixer anymore – I killed it last Christmas with excessive cookie making! – so I have to get my hands dirty here. The mixture is a little dry so you may need to add water. If you do need to add water, only add a tiny amount, a couple of drops at a time. You don’t want the mixture to get too wet, you just want it to bind so you can form it into a smooth ball.

Then, wrap it in clingfilm or pop it in a sandwich bag and put it in the fridge for 20-30 minutes. This step is optional, but you will find chilling your dough after mixing and after cutting will help stop your biscuits spreading in the oven.

Roll out your dough – I roll it out to about 6mm thickness – and cut out your biscuits and place them on a baking sheet covered in baking paper.

You can make them whatever size you want, but do remember to try to cook biscuits of the same size together as you may need to adjust the cooking time for bigger biscuits so you’ll need to watch them.

Lightly prick the top of each biscuit and put back in the fridge to chill for another 20-30 minutes.

Now, place in a preheated oven at about 180˚C for 15 – 20 minutes.
As soon as the biscuits are out of the oven place them on a cooling rack (I leave them on the paper) and sprinkle with caster sugar. By doing this straight away, the heat from the biscuits makes the sugar stick to them better. Leave to cool, then eat!

Leave a Reply

