Here today, scone tomorrow!

See what I did there?! Sorry, I couldn’t resist!

Now that I’m free from lawyering for a few days it’s time for some blogging & rather than spend my commute reading about the new Civil Procedure Rules (noted & duly terrified), I have decided to tell you about my recent foray into making scones.

I originally made these scones for the afternoon tea I threw to celebrate the Royal wedding a few years back (wow, that time went fast!). Here’s a snap of our patriotic table that day, adorned with my Great Grandma’s china.

20130404-193739.jpg

Cara complimented me on the addition of clementine zest, which at the time was a happy accident.

So this year I made some more (they fitted with M’s afternoon tea-style birthday party & freeze well so could be made in advance). This time I flavored them with lemon zest, as well as dried fruit.

I always fret about making scones. Will they rise? Will they be light & crumbly? Do I have to use buttermilk? Can I keep the dough wet enough without it sticking to my fingers & the work surface? I was chatting with a WI member recently who also admitted to finding these deceptively tricky, & if the WI find them difficult …

I turned once again to the Queen of baking Mrs Berry who provided the definitive recipe for traditional scones. My husband Nick very kindly bought me her book (& now my go to baking book) ‘My Kitchen Table: 100 Cakes and Bakes’ for Valentine’s Day.

Mary promises the secret to good scones is to keep the dough on the wet, sticky side & avoid handling them too much.

Mary’s recipe (makes 8-10 scones using a 2in fluted cutter):
450g (1lb) self-raising flour
2 rounded tsp baking powder
75g (3oz) butter
50g (2oz) caster sugar
2 large eggs
about 225ml (8fl oz) milk

I added a few tablespoons of raisins tossed in the zest of one lemon & a pinch of salt as I used unsalted butter.

Method here

Pull the cutter straight up & avoid twisting to ensure an even rise.

I recently made Mary Berry’s bread & butter pudding from her very touching Mary Berry Story documentary. This is the ultimate comfort food. Here sugar & mixed spice is added to the fruit. This would be a good festive combo for these scones (if you feel the need eat scones at Christmas, why not?!). What about adding chocolate chips? Or white chocolate & cardamom? Too much?

Not the best pic I’m afraid but here are the tasty little morsels. I kept them bite size & already assembled for guests’ convenience as there were lots of little fingers about too but you could use any size you like. John Lewis’ jumbo scones are just too tempting.

FYI: Purists would insist on raspberry jam but Tiptree Strawb & Champers jam goes a treat. Cream? Clotted, natch!

20130404-181344.jpg

Bex x

Leave a Reply

