“Felt” like a change

I want to attempt something outside my comfort zone for my next project so thought I would try my hand at some needle craft. As I haven’t really sewn anything more than a button (excluding Mabel’s cross stitch, link to previous post here http://wp.me/p2I3DN-2o), since I was at school I thought I should practice a bit before attempting anything too ambitious.

This month’s edition of Mollie Makes includes the materials & pattern to make this cute felt little bird so I thought I would give it a go.

First you take your pattern & pin it to the felt.

20130429-180156.jpg
Cut out two baby blue bird pieces for the bird’s body.

Next, cut out the leaves, eye, wing & spotty fabric detail.

20130429-180418.jpg

You also need a small black bead & a length of ric-rac.

Sew the eye bead, eye & wing onto the front of the bird’s body.

20130429-180516.jpg
Pin the ric-rac (love using this), spotty fabric & grosgrain ribbon into place. The instructions say to secure the spotted fabric with Wunderweb but I didn’t have any so stitched it on instead.

20130429-180927.jpg
Sew around the edge of the bird’s body using a small back stitch, leaving a gap. Add a running stitch down the middle of the leaves & secure onto the grosgrain loop. Attach a clasp to the ribbon.

Stuff the bird with toy stuffing or, in my case, what I had to hand, which was cotton wool & works just as well.

20130429-194714.jpg

Stitch the stuffing gap closed & there you have it!

20130429-194811.jpg

It’s not perfect but I’m happy with the end result considering I managed to complete the whole project start to finish during one of Mabel’s afternoon naps.

For my next felt project I’ll need to work out how to get the back looking as neat as the front.

Bex
x

One thought on ““Felt” like a change

  1. Pingback: Hopping through hoops | Harts & Carafts

Leave a Reply

