“Iced” cream. Eaton a mess?

I’ve seen two TV chefs make ice cream without an ice cream maker this week & was inspired to try the same. I adore ice cream but don’t have a machine & wanted to give it a go.

Nigel Slater, once again my inspiration, made this quick & easy PYO ice cream. He also reminded me to make sure I visit my local PYO farm again this year for some hand picked summer berries. It’s such a fun day out & a large part of the reason I love living 10 mins drive from the countryside. This time Mabel will enjoy helping me!

Homemade ice creams are traditionally custard based & to ensure the result is as smooth & creamy as possible a machine is recommended because when you freeze anything from a liquid to a solid, crystals form.

The machine churns the mixture making sure the crystals don’t form.

No one likes crunchy ice cream – unless its say a piece of honeycomb or a chocolate chunk!

I thought therefore that ice cream making was off limits but Nigel taught me you don’t need fancy gadgets. Homemade ice cream is simple & delicious & all you need is a whisk & a carton of double cream.

My Farther-in-law offered to babysit for us on Saturday night & I like to leave Grandpa something yummy in the fridge as a thank you. Cara brought some delicious strawberries over on Friday night for after supper. We didn’t get around to eating them (we went straight for the profiteroles instead!).

So I whizzed up some cream with a dash of vanilla & a few tablespoons of icing sugar then washed, chopped & stirred in the strawbs & crumbled in some crunchy/chewy meringue nests.

I didn’t have time to make the coulis but it is very easy – just gently heat & strain the berries through a sieve or whizz them up in a blender & sweeten to taste with icing sugar.

On Sunday there was plenty of Eaton mess left in the fridge so I thought I would do as Nigel did & put it in the freezer. I didn’t even bother to decant it into a freezer box, I just kept it in the basin I mixed it in.

No churning, no custard, just frozen cream. After all, isn’t that just what “ice cream” is?

This was the yummy result.

20130623-133052.jpg

I was so impatient for creamy, meringue, strawberry heaven that I only managed to freeze it for 3 hours. It would have benefitted from the full 4 hours but was delicious nonetheless.

I really like the texture of the crunchy meringue against the smooth cream & the tartness of the berries against the sweetness of the meringue. A classic & lush flavour combo.

There are so many options I’m inspired to try some more & make this a regular summer frozen treat.

I think next time I will stew the fruit & ripple the compote through the cream to distribute the flavour of the fruit more evenly.

Yoghurt works well too – the craze for “Fro-Yo” is taking off & M adores yoghurt & fruit so I will be trying this for her (& me) next.

Sorbets are also super easy as the ice crystal problem is eliminated. You just need to stir them to get the consistency right – more of a frozen slush than an ice cube.

It all lasts for ages in the freezer too.

How about ice cream sandwiches like these from The Glitter Guide

20130623-141700.jpg

Perfect for warm sunny days – if we ever get any!

Bex x

Leave a Reply

